Manage Profile   |   Groups   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
News & Press: Potomac Pedalers News

2014 Annual Meeting Recap

Tuesday, January 14, 2014   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mark Alpert
Share |

Chair - Rich Tepel
The 2014 annual meeting was held at the River Road Unitarian Church on January 11, 2014.

(scroll down for photos)

Our guest speaker was Andy Clarke President and CEO of League of American Bicyclists. He spoke about the following:

  1. The history of LAB.The League was founded as the League of American Wheelmen in 1880. Bicyclists, known then as "wheelmen,” were challenged by rutted roads of gravel and dirt and advocated for paved roads.
  2. How all of us should be involved in advocacy of biking and biking facilities.
  3. The great success story we have had in this region with DC, Arlington, Alexandria being rated high as "Bike Friendly” communities and Bike Share.

Chair of Potomac Pedalers, Rich Tepel opened the business portion of the meeting and he spoke of last year’s accomplishments:

  1. Website improvements
  2. Communications with club members
  3. Advocacy for Biking

Then Rich listed this year’s primary goal to increase the number of rides and ride leaders.

The club treasurer Nancy Avitabile, reported on the club’s financials. Our goal was to break even on operating revenue and expenses and we were very close. Our investments, however, showed very large gains.

The club membership secretary Mike Divine said that membership has remained relatively stable since last year.

The following members received these awards…

  • Peter leGrand Good Shepherd Award - Linda Kolko
  • Best Original Ride Award - Liz Ginexi
  • Neal Molloy Volunteer Award - Denise Cohen
  • Linda Tischer Lifetime Achievement Award -Butch Counts & Harold Goldstein

The ride leaders that led 10 or more rides in 2013 were recognized.

The following members of the message committee were recognized for their important contribution:

  • Teresa Browder
  • Janet Cyphers
  • Irmgard Dugge
  • Lois Lightfoot
  • Susan Fullenbaum
  • Beth Merricks
  • Joan Oppel.

The following members were elected to the Executive Committee for 2014:

  • Rich Tepel, Chair
  • Matt Birnbaum, Chair Elect
  • Sue Gunter, Member-at-Large
  • Eric Lengel,Member-at-Large

The meeting was adjourned. After the meeting a committee for Planning the 2014 BackRoads Century met.


Rich Tepel - Chair
Nancy Avitabile - Treasurer

Linda Schwartz - Executive Committee
Mike Divine - Membership Secretary

Bob Manka - Recording Secretary
Andy Clarke - League of American Cyclists


Linda Kolko - Peter LeGrand Good Shepherd Award
Denise Cohen - Neal Molloy Volunteer Award

Butch Counts - LIfetime Achievement Award
Harold Goldstein - Lifetime Achievement Award

Deb Reynolds - Communications Award
Eric Pilsk - Website Award


more Ride Schedule

C (MH) * 21-29 miles * MD *10:00 AM * Glen Echo Loops * Glen Echo (GLE)

B/BB * 15-25 * MD * 12:00 PM * Thursday Noon Training Ride Bethesda * Marriott HQ loading dock

Featured Members
Linda B. KolkoLinda is the D/C Ride Coordinator for MD & DC
Matthew BirnbaumMatt is Chairman of Potomac Pedalers