Manage Profile   |   Groups   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
News & Press: Potomac Pedalers News

Potomac Pedalers Award Nominations

Friday, November 21, 2014   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mark Alpert
Share |

The Club presents a number of awards to members at the annual meeting. The Good Shepherd, Rookie Ride Leader and Best Original Ride Awards are presented each year. The Neal D. Molloy Volunteer and Linda Tischer PPTC Lifetime Awards are only presented to exceptional candidates, so they will not always be given. All awardees receive a plaque. The PPTC Lifetime Award also comes with free lifetime PPTC membership.  Any member can nominate a PPTC member for any of these awards by emailing Rich Tepel or any other ExCom member with the name of the nominee and a brief statement about why the person deserves a particular award.  Email addresses of the ExCom members are on page 2 of the Pedal Patter and here on the website. Awardees will be selected by the ExCom from those nominations received by 6 pm on January 2, 2015. Descriptions of the awards are as follows:

Peter LeGrand Good Shepherd Award

Some ride leaders go out of their way to ensure that everyone on a ride feels welcome. They keep an eye on stragglers, assist with mechanical problems and even SAG the weary if necessary. Such an outstanding ride leader receives special recognition in the form of the Peter LeGrand Good Shepherd Award.  Peter LeGrand (1989) was the first recipient of the Good Shepherd Award, which was later renamed in his memory.

Rookie Ride Leader of the Year Award

This award is presented to an individual who, in the past calendar year, has led his or her first ride for the club and has shown a subsequent dedication to continuing to lead rides and following the Ride Leader Guidelines.

Best Original Ride of the Year Award

An award will be given to the member or members who have developed the best original ride of the year. In order to qualify, the ride should be a route unique to the last calendar year and should feature roads and/or areas not usually used on PPTC rides.

Neal D. Molloy Volunteer Award

An award will be given to the member or members who go above and beyond the call of duty in volunteering for the Club.  This award honors Neal Molloy (2010), a beloved club member, who shared his enthusiasm and energy with every rider he met and was dedicated to cycling and to PPTC.

Linda Tischer PPTC Lifetime Award

The nominee must have demonstrated leadership, selfless dedication, effective contribution and personal commitment in support of PPTC interests, goals and ideals over a number of years. The nominee must have been a member for at least ten years and must be a current member to receive the award. The nomination should include evidence of personal involvement in the management, administration or financial affairs of PPTC measured by achievement while actively serving as a member, officer or committee chairperson, ride leader, coordinator or other Club position listed on page two of the Pedal Patter. 

more Ride Schedule

C (MH) * 21-29 miles * MD *10:00 AM * Glen Echo Loops * Glen Echo (GLE)

B/BB * 15-25 * MD * 12:00 PM * Thursday Noon Training Ride Bethesda * Marriott HQ loading dock

Featured Members
Matthew BirnbaumMatt is Chairman of Potomac Pedalers
Linda B. KolkoLinda is the D/C Ride Coordinator for MD & DC