Welcome to the Potomac Pedalers Touring Club

User login

Club Awards

Peter LeGrand Good Shepherd Award
Some Ride Leaders go out of their way to make everyone on a ride feel welcome and part of the group. They keep an eye on stragglers, help out with mechanical problems, and even sag the weary if necessary. Every year at the Annual Meeting, one such Ride Leader, nominated by the membership and selected by the Executive Committee, receives special recognition and an award. Peter LeGrand (1989) was the first recipient of the Good Shepherd Award, which was subsequently renamed in his memory.

The Peter LeGrand Good Shepherd Award has been given to the following exemplary Club members:

2007 Cynthia Priddy
2006 Brin Luther
2005 Mariette Vanderzon, Rigo Espinosa, Colleen McNerney
2004 Jeanette & Jay Howard
2003 Marvin Haas
2002 John Wannen
2001 Richard Whitt
2000 Barbara Binder
1999 Chris Moriarity
1998 Dan Lehman
1997 Anne Brown
1996 Glenn Gillis
1995 Larry Zaragoza
1994 Al Jones
1993 Alfredo Suescum
1992 Paul Carroll
1991 Bob Piper
1990 Jack Marney
1989 Peter LeGrand

In addition to the Good Shepherd Award, the Club honors members who have made special contributions to the Club with several other awards.

Rookie Ride Leader Award 
This award is presented to an individual who, in the past calendar year, has lead his or her first ride for the club and has shown a subsequent dedication to continuing to lead rides and following the Ride Leader Guidelines.  

Best Original Ride of the Year Award
An award will be given to the member or members who have developed the best original ride of the year. In order to qualify, the ride should be a route unique to the last calendar year and should feature roads and areas not usually utilized on PPTC rides. The award will be presented at the Annual Meeting.  

Neal D. Malloy Volunteer Award
An award will be given to the member or members who go above and beyond the call of duty in volunteering for the Club. The award may be presented annually at the Annual Meeting. 

Linda Tischer PPTC Lifetime Award
The nominee must have made outstanding and long-term significant contributions through individual volunteer effort to PPTC. Evidence of personal involvement in the management, administration, or financial affairs of PPTC measured by achievement while actively serving as a member, officer, or committee chairperson, ride leader, coordinator or other position normally found on page two of Pedal Patter shall be presented. The nominee must have demonstrated leadership, selfless dedication, effective contribution and personal commitment in support of PPTC interests, goals, and ideals over a number of years. The nominee must have been a member for at least ten years and must be a current member to receive the award.



User login