Congratulations to the Annual Award Winners!

Sunday, January 28, 2018

Our annual Volunteer Party was held January 20th at the Fairlington Community Center in Virginia. About fifty members came to the potluck party and feasted on delicious Italian entrees provided by the Club and all the sides and desserts you could want, provided by our talented members. Merriment and socialization was the primary agenda for the evening but we also handed our our annual Club Awards. Congratulations to them. If you did not receive your plaque at the party, efforts are being made to get it to you! Thanks to all who serve and support our Club!


2018 Peter LeGrand Good Shepherd Award - Polly Choate
In recognition of your steady ride leadership and dedication and caring for all cyclists on your rides. For being friendly, keeping an eye on stragglers, and going out of your way to make everyone feel welcome and part of the group. 

2018 Best Original Ride of the Year - HoCo Farm & Art Tour
The HoCo Farm & Art Tour took the roads usually traveled and put them together for a unique, scenic ride showcasing Howard County’s local artisans and businesses. This ride is most deserving of the Best Original Ride of the Year having created a fun and educating experience for all.

2018 Best Original Ride of the Year - Norman Rasmussen
In recognition of creating not one, but numerous safe and enjoyable alternatives to riding the temporarily closed Capital Crescent Trail. You use remote, seldom traveled paths and roads showcasing parts of the area seldom traveled. 

2018 Neal D. Molloy Volunteer Award - Erik Pilsk
​In recognition of going above and beyond the call of duty in volunteering for the Club. Despite a busy work and home life, you’ve volunteered as a member of the ExCom for multiple terms. In addition, you’ve volunteered multiple times on the Back Roads Century in challenging jobs such as rest stop leader, transportation, and, most recently, as Vice Chair, Century. You’ve accomplished these tasks competently and with a smile ever present. You are most deserving of the Neal D. Molloy Volunteer Award, capturing the spirit of Neal’s volunteerism.

2018 President’s Award - Nancy Avitabile
Having served as Treasurer for five years, you did not hesitate to volunteer in the newly created position of Vice Chair, Special Events. In this capacity, you ably oversaw the creation of a new special event, the Howard County Farm & Art Tour.

2018 President’s Award - Erik Pilsk

ExCom member for multiple terms. Century rest stop leader. Century transportation coordinator. Knowing all too well the challenges, you stepped up and volunteered to be the first Vice Chair, Century, doing so cheerfully and executing this position skillfully. Even after stepping down, you’ve given your time to bring your relief up to speed on the challenges that are the Back Roads century.


Other scenes from the evening:



A Thank You to Our Sponsors!